Passion For Baby Fashion

A Stay @ Home Mom and Her Creations!

So Much is Happening Here!

on January 27, 2012

Quote!

“Just don’t give up trying to do what you really want to do.

Where there is love and inspiration, I don’t think you can go wrong.”

-Ella Fitzgerald

Omgosh I am so excited today!! I have so much going on for Passion For Baby Fashion right now!

If you haven’t seen my Facebook it can be found by searching for Chelsea’s BabyFashions and I love friends 🙂

My Kickstarter project launched yesterday AH! This is a big deal people! You can see it here http://kck.st/w8hiil be sure to help me share this with as people as we can. I have so much to share and I just need a little support 😀

I am brand new to Twitter!! You can follow the most frequent updates by adding @coychelsea Do it!

I hope I’m not forgetting anything! But that’s the big stuff today 🙂

I’ve got some seriously cute stuff in the making right now but not quite finished yet! I will share them as soon as I’m finished!!

SEWING ESSENTIALS!

Having a good basic stock of the following items will make sure you are set to begin. Having a sewing machine would be fantastic for you but if you are a hand sewer than you may not have  a need for one. You can go to stores such as Joann’s, Costco, Walmart, etc. to find one new. You can check out online shopping by simply googleing it or I would check out Amazon.com. Of course if you want to be budget minded be sure to browse craigslist, and your local 2nd hand thrift stores. Be sure to do your research before you choose. Make sure that you are getting a sewing machine that fits your sewing needs 🙂

Here is a list of basic tools to have in your sewing box:

Straight pins: These are used for so many things in sewing they are a must! I recommend the ones that have a decorative head (ball, bead, flat flower) because they are easier to grasp.

Pin Cushion: These are obviously used to hold onto your pins for you so they don’t end up on your seat 😉 Pick whatever kind you want as long as you can poke needles into it. There are magnetic ones that are cool too. You can make your own!

Seam Ripper: This was a god send for my first couple projects! While getting used to the different layers and such I had to pull a few seams to get it right. It should have a cover, a small point, and a sharp inner blade.

Scissors: There is an endless amount of scissors out there, but don’t be fooled you pretty much need two pairs. Have a pair of 7″-8″ bent handle shears, these are the best for big cutting jobs that your rotary cutter isn’t right for. I like to cut out my patterns with these. Then be sure to have a small pair of 4″-5″ trimming scissors, great for snipping thread or little pieces of fabric here or there. These are best for the little snips that the other two pairs make difficult.

Tape Measure: This is the kind that you can drape around your neck for quick access. These are fabulous! Have one and you’ll see why! They are essential.

Fabric Markers: Okay there are a ton of these, I think it is up to you! See what you are comfortable with. I have a chalk pencil and fabric marker that washes out. Pay attention to not ruining your project because you used something that stained.

Rotary cutter: Reminds me of a pizza cutter, but don’t mix the two! It is so much easier and faster to cut your fabric pieces with this tool. There are different sizes to fit your different needs. 

Rotary Cutting Mat: Unless you want to cut up your work table or kitchen table this is a must have! It a cutting board for your sewing room AND it has a ruler across the whole thing.

Clear Rulers: Again works great along with the rotary cutter and mat.

So there you have it! Get these supplies gathered up and you are on your way to sewing master! I have seen several “Starter Kits” at craft stores. Don’t forget to check out sales and such when your shopping for these items 😉

Much Love! TTYL!

Don’t forget to check out my Kickstarter project! Please remember that this is ending in 29 days, that means I am working really hard to get the word out as far as I can in that time. Please share this with everyone you think will be interested in my project 🙂

http://kck.st/w8hiil   <<< Go Here!

Kickstarter is the world’s largest funding platform for creative projects.

Dont’ forget to subscribe today 🙂

Leave a Reply

